Major Club Events

NDGA - Association Day


Lake Macquarie Amateur

The Lake Macquarie International Championship, which encompasses the Lake Macquarie Women’s Amateur Championship over 72 holes, NSW Men’s Seniors Foursomes, Lake Macquarie Men’s Senior Championship over 36 holes (a Golf NSW Senior Order Of Merit Event) and the Men’s Lake Macquarie International Amateur Championship (72 holes)has been attracting the cream of the amateur crop since its inception in 1958 when Bruce Devlin took out the first title. Major winners like Mark O’Meara, Steve Elkington and Vijay Singh have graced the fairways. Other big names who have walked in their footsteps include Colin Montgomerie, Luke Donald, Paul Casey, Jack Newton (1969 winner), Roger Davis (1973 winner), Peter O’Malley (1986 winner), Robert Allenby, Geoff Ogilvy (1997 winner), Stuart Appleby, Jarrod Lyle ( 2003,4 winner) Mark Leishman (2005 winner) and Jason Day who is currently joint course record holder.

Every year there are strong contingencies from overseas; countries such as Ireland, England, Wales, Germany, Canada, France, USA and New Zealand. One of the reasons the world’s best golfers (men and women) keep turning up to play Belmont is because the course is well regarded and the event is a World Amateur Ranking event in addition to being an Australian National selection tournament.                  

Karuah Cup and Shield

Charlestown Cup


Easter Cup - Waratah

Tanilba Bay Cup

Muree Cup

Karuah Men's Open

The Karuah Open has been played for over thirty years, since the club was formed in 1983.
In more recent times it has become the club's Seafood Day, where players can enjoy local prawns, oysters and fish after their round.

The Event is an 18 Hole Stroke in 3 Divisions. 0 - 12, 13 - 21 and 22 - 36.   Field is limited to 72 players.

The 2015 Open has been moved to a Sunday (April 19) with a shotgun start, which creates a lot more atmosphere, and a chance to have a playoff if there is a tie for the title. 

In addition to it being a separate event, the Karuah Open is now also part of the Short Courses Championship. This inaugural competition is played at nine nine hole courses which include courses in the Hunter, Lower North Coast and Newcastle District Golf Associations. A player's best four rounds count towards a total to win a scratch and a net championship, over nine courses Open events.


Toronto Bowl

Myall Autumn Classic - Hawks Nest

Newcastle Autumn Record

Water Wonderland Tournament - Nelson Bay

Queen's Birthday Bowl - Merewether

Pacific Dunes Cup

Merewether Cup

W.E. Alexander Open - Waratah

Steelworks Cup

Toronto Cup

Mattara Cup - Merewether

Newcastle Cup

Myall Summer Classic - Hawks Nest

Beresfield Bowl